Budapest's Castle Hill offers the best views belonging to Gellért Hill. Was given the name of Bishop Gellért, who spread Christianity in Hungary also played a major role. Belonging to the Castle Hill - Budapest, also called jewel a large part of Gellert Hill in Budapest XI. district. Smaller northern part of the I within the district. The east side of the Danube, south-west of Eagle Mountain, northwest of the Sun Mountain, north, and the Castle Hill is bounded. Northeast end of the Elizabeth Bridge, south-east end of Liberty Bridge is located.
Probably the most fascinating edifice in City Park. The mock castle was originally built of timber and hardboard for the World Exhibition organized in 1896 to mark the thousandth anniversary of the arrival of the Magyars in the Carpathian Basin.
Budapest's grandest square stands at the top of Andrássy Avenue, with City Park right behind. Marking the end of stylish Andrássy Avenue, this monumental edifice is a majestic memorial to the thousand-year history of Hungarians in Europe. Each part of the monument represents an important moment in Hungarian history. The solemnity and pomp of the ensemble is further heightened by the two old museums on either side: the Museum of Fine Arts and the Palace of Art.
Construction of the largest church of the capital (seating 8,500 persons) was beset by vicissitudes. No sooner had the groundwork begun when the War of Independence broke out in 1848, then construction was resumed in 1851, followed by the successive deaths of the two architects, and even the dome collapsed during the works. The church with a Greek cross plan was finally consecrated in 1905.
Budapest's finest green spot is Margaret Island (Margitsziget) located in the middle of the river Danube between Margaret Bridge and Árpád Bridge. The 100-hectare parkland is kept peaceful and quiet by being sealed off to most vehicular traffic. The park is beautiful and very varied: century-old chestnut avenues, English, Japanese and French gardens alternate with ruins of a nunnery, an old water tower and a wide range of sports facilities.
The church bears the name of its greatest patron, King Matthias, who married twice in this shrine. It is almost as old as the Royal Palace and has been the venue of several coronation ceremonies. Every king and époque left its mark on the building until the Turks occupied Buda in 1541 and converted the church into a mosque, whitewashing - and thus preserving - its medieval frescos. Matthias Church took on its current form at the turn of the century when several smaller buildings attached to it earlier were pulled down and the church was reconstructed in characteristic neo-Gothic style. In addition to the usual biblical scenes, its frescos relate the most important events in Hungary's history. The magnificent acoustics make it a popular concert venue.
It was completed in 1905 on the site of a former fish market - hence the name. It has never served a defensive purpose, although it is an excellent lookout place. The cityscape opening up from there, including the Fishermen's Bastion, has been part of UNESCO's World Heritage since 1988. The crypt of the ancient St. Michael Cemetery Chapel (the first written record dates from 1443) was opened to the public in 1997.
The name Buda Castle covers more than a castle or the Royal Palace in the capital city; it extends to the historical quarter full of sites. The Castle District on Castle Hill is one of the most romantic sections in Budapest. It forms a compact medieval town with atmospheric streets, picturesque houses, gas lamps and beautiful monuments.